Sportswomen of Colorado award winners named

Staff report

Sportswomen of Colorado will honor 45 of Colorado’s top female athletes and contributors to women’s athletics at its 39th annual Awards Banquet, March 10th at the Hyatt Regency Tech Center.

The awards presenters will be Susie Wargin and Marcia Neville with special guest Missy Franklin.

Three of the honorees will become members of the Hall of Fame for receiving three awards over the years from the organization.

Bonnie Brandon, Swimming, Cherry Creek High School

Emma Coburn, Track and Field, University of Colorado

Annie Kunz, All-Around, Texas A&M

The highlight of the evening will be the surprise presentation of the Sportswoman of the Year Award to the state’s most outstanding athlete on the basis of her 2012 achievements.

All award winners were chosen by a media panel from a pool of more that 70 nominated candidates. The complete list of 2013 winners follows.

2013 SWOC Winners

Chucky Jeffery Basketball University of Colorado

Kailey Edwards Basketball Legacy HS

Georgia Gould Mountain Biking Ft. Collins

Allison Jones Paralympic Cycling Colorado Springs

Todd Schmitz Coach Swimming Colorado Stars

Elise Cranny Running - Cross Country Niwot

Alexa Beckwith Diving St. Mary’s Academy

Meili Carpenter Diving Fairview H.S.

Julia Murphy Field Hockey Colorado Academy

Emily Talley Golf University of Colorado

Keri Peel Gymnastics Rocky Mountain HS

Moriah Martin Gymnastics University of Denver

Emma Lazaroff Lacrosse Centaurus High School

Kate Henrich Lacrosse University of Denver

Heather Utrata Running - Road Englewood

Kim Dobson Running - Trail Grand Junction

Mikaela Shiffrin Burke Mountain


Kristen Hamilton Soccer University of Denver

Isabelle Morel Soccer Peak to Peak Charter School

Molly Clark Softball Metro State University

Cassidy Smith Softball Loveland High School

Bonnie Brandon Swimming Cherry Creek High School

Alexa Glatch Tennis Centennial

Jessika Mozia Tennis Colorado Academy

Janay DeLoach-Soukup Track and Field Olympic Field

Shalaya Kipp Track and Field University of Colorado

Emma Coburn Track and Field University of Colorado

Valarie Allman Track and Field Silver Creek High


Abigail Simpson Track and Field Pueblo County High School

Taylor Fogg Triathlon Pine Creek High School

Mary Beth Ellis Triathlon Superior

Haleigh Washington Volleyball Doherty High School

Ariel Turner Volleyball Purdue University

Adeline Grey Wrestling Colorado Springs

Cody Pfau Wrestling Grand Valley High School


Annie Kunz All-Around Texas A&M

Taylor Leyva All-Around, H.S. Pueblo West High

Katie Hartman Comeback University of Colorado

Scott Irving Career Achievement United State Air Force Academy

Jane Wahl Dorothy Mauk Pioneer

Jasmine Cervantes Leadership Metro State University

Brickelle Bro Promising Rock Canyon High School

Faimie Kingsley Perseverance University of Denver

Love, Sweat & Gears Swede Johnson Spirit Award

Chris Beal Trail Blazer Lakewood

No comments on this story | Add your comment
Please log in or register to add your comment