🎉   Welcome to our new web site!   🎉

For the next 30 days, we’re providing free access to non-subscribers so you can see what we have to offer. And if you subscribe by May 1, you’ll get a 25% discount on your subscription! We hope you’ll like what you see and want to support local media.

Republican assembly meets in Kiowa


At noon March 24, Republicans met in assembly to select candidates for open seats in Elbert County. The primary goal was to choose county commissioner candidates for the two open seats. The assembly was convened beginning at the Elbert County Fairgrounds, Exhibit Building, in Kiowa. 


A total of 144 delegates and 144 alternate delegates were authorized by the Executive Committee of the Elbert County Republican Party and apportioned to each precinct according to the proportion of active registered Republican voters in each precinct.  The principal purposes of the assembly of county delegates was:


-       To ratify the election of precinct committeepersons.


-       To designate Republican candidate(s) for the office of County Commissioner.


-       To ratify 24 delegates and 24 alternates to the Colorado State Republican Assembly, and to ratify the election of delegates and alternates to all higher District Assemblies.


-       To consider and adopt such other rules and resolutions, and conduct all other business of the Republican Party, that may lawfully come before such an Assembly of delegates.


Of the 144 delegates, 136, or 94 percent, were present, indicating high interest. Only eight alternates were seated.

The District 1 candidates for commissioner included Del Schwab, Robert Rowland and Steve Valdez. A minimum of 44 votes were required to make the primary ballot. Results: Schwab 72 votes, Rowland 45 votes and Valdez 26 votes. There was one spoiled ballot.


The District 3 candidates for commissioner were John Shipper and Larry Ross.  John Dunn announced at the assembly, with Sue Littlefield dropping out. Results were Shipper 73 votes, Ross 50 votes and Dunn 21 votes.


The assembly was attended by candidates from House District 64 and the 18th Judicial District, who will be selected at future meetings. State Rep. Cindy Acree and Congressman Cory Gardner were also present and spoke. Precinct Committee members selected at caucus were ratified.  All resolutions were passed.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.